Antarctica – I came, I saw, I conquered, and I barely slept…Part 1

20181213_102605
A waddle of Gentoo penguins near Petermann Island

Oh, oh Antarctica
A place like her, there is only one
Oh, oh Antarctica
A part of you, she will become

– Sounds of the South (Lyrics from a jingle a few people came up with during the trip – I guess you either try to sleep or make music)

Apologies for the delay in getting my first post-Antarctica blog out. As I write this, parked in LAB Cafe in downtown Buenos Aires, I can’t help but feel emotionally and physically exhausted from my two weeks of traveling through Argentina and Antarctica. While the trip has been a blast, to say the least,  I think the lack of sleep from the ship is finally starting to catch up with me.

Drake’s Passage was tough – as they say – you have to pay the toll to go to/from Antarctica. And we certainly did on the ride back. The trip to Antarctica was a breeze, but the ride back was brutal. Over a day’s worth of tumultuous waves that measured between 6-10 meters high – constantly.

Here’s a video of what we endured for 24+ hrs. It’s taken from bridge of our ship, the Ocean Diamond.

In any case, I had plans to come out with something much more detailed than this initial post, but since I’m heading to the airport shortly, I’ve decided to just share some of my favorite shots for now. More will follow after I get back home (and start to feel like myself again).

A map of most of the locations we hit in Antarctica is included below. Details to follow, as I share my personal experiences meeting new people and navigating a barren land that doesn’t need the company of humans.

maps

And who can forget pictures (in no particular order)!! Enjoy!

Leave a comment