Packing – My Own Personal Hell

Joan

Packing is my pet hate. – Seal

If only it were this easy…not being Joan Collins…but having someone pack and schlep your luggage around for you. I think Seal summed up packing very well (speaking of, when was the last time he said/sang anything worthwhile?).

So back to packing – I hate it. It makes me stressed and sad. In fact, as I write this I’m about 75% done and less than 24 hrs from my flight to Argentina. Honestly, I’d rather write this blog, drink a beer, stress eat, watch TV, check out Amazon.com, or pretty much do anything else besides pack. This is how I genuinely feel when I hear the word “packing”.

ben

That’s right, Ben. Sadness.

I will say, with all the deep hatred I have for it, I feel like I’ve made the most progress in the last 48 hours – thanks in large part to my girlfriend (thanks, Alicia). Without her, I’d probably be sorting through clothes, picking out shoes, packing my bags, then unpacking my bags (you know you’ve been there before), then checking my list again, then loading my bag with extra crap that I need for that .00000001% chance I wind up at some kind of fancy party with famous people (pretty sure that only happens in the movies).

In case you’re wondering how I’m able to keep it together while under a ton of stress, especially for a once in a lifetime journey, allow me to explain. By following these six simple steps, you’ll have your bags packed and ready to go in no time. Full disclosure: this method is only effective if you have alcohol.

Step 1 (T-2 Weeks): Start stressing for no reason.

Step 2 (T-1 Week): Start talking about how much you hate packing. Share your sentiment with friends, colleagues, or your life partner. They’ll think you’re crazy (and annoying).

Step 3 (T-4 Days): Start putting your stuff together. Not too fast though! You don’t want to get everything done right away.

20181201_132642

Step 4 (T-3 Days): Add a few more things. But not too much.

20181201_134841

Step 4.5 (T-3 Days): Add alcohol. Then do something else – like play vinyl.

20181201_134825

Step 5 (T-2 Days): Cry a little, it’s OK.

tobias

Step 5.5 (T-2 Days): Let it all out.

tobias2

Step 6 (T-1 Day):  Have your girlfriend join the party and hear her explain how you’ve had more than enough time to figure this out. Make sure you add beer (again) to your packing exercise. Helps speed things up and makes the conversation interesting.

bcs

Finally, watch it all magically come together.

20181206_001645

Well that wasn’t hard, was it?

Enough for tonight. Stay tuned for more trip details. I’ll be heading out tomorrow, but hope to find time on the plane, and during layovers, to share more fun.

Leave a comment